The most complete summary of information and the best tips to make it easier for every tourist in making travel plans who want to vacation in Komodo National Park.

  • Home

Did You Know, Which Island are Inhabited by Komodo Dragons?

Posted by Anzi B on Jul 04 2021
Blog >>

In the last few days, social media has been buzzing about news of a geopark development project titled "Jurassic Park" being carried out on Rinca Island, part of the Komodo National Park (TNK).

Rinca Island is one of the habitats of the Komodo dragon population, which is a rare animal and must be protected. Komodo Island and Rinca Island have been designated as national parks since 1980.

Jurasik Park Komodo

This is done to protect the Komodo dragon or Varanus komodoensis, an ancient endemic animal that can be found in East Nusa Tenggara (NTT). So, which islands are inhabited by Komodo dragons?


It has been recorded in 2018, Komodo dragons are only found in Indonesia. Launching Encylopaedia Britannica (2015), Komodo dragons are found on the islands of Komodo, Rinca, Flores, Gili Motang, and Gili Dasami, NTT. In a study conducted, it's not that Komodo dragons can't explore other areas, but they don't want to do it.

During a decade of observation, it was found that the Komodo dragon never left its homeland throughout its life. The researchers also referred to the Komodo dragons as a real homebody group. The data states that until July 16, 2019, the Komodo National Park Office reported the number of Komodo dragons in KNP was approximately 2,800 individuals.

Komodo dragon habitat islands

The number of Komodo dragons in the KNP area is fluctuating due to natural conditions. That is, if the number of prey or food increases, it will be accompanied by population. Vice versa. KNP consists of approximately 147 islands with an area of ​​137 thousand hectares.

The following is a profile of a number of islands inhabited by Komodo dragons:


Rinca Island  

Rinca Island is a tiny island close by Komodo Island. Besides Komodo dragons, various types of animals such as wild pigs, buffalo, and birds can also be found on this island. Administratively, Rinca Island is included in the Komodo District, West Manggarai, NTT.

Meanwhile, the area of ​​Rinca Island is about 198 square kilometers. Inside is the village of Pasir Panjang. However, this village consists of several villages that are not concentrated on one island. Another village is on Kukusan Island. According to BPS data in 2019, the population of Pasir Panjang Village is 1,688 people, consisting of 855 men and 833 women.

Komodo island  

Komodo Island is known as the original habitat of the Komodo dragon. This island is located east of Sumbawa Island, which is separated by the Sape Strait. Just like Rinca Island, Komodo Island is also included in the Komodo District area.

Meanwhile, the area of ​​Komodo Island is about 390 square kilometers. Inside Komodo Island, there is Komodo Village with a population of 1,791 people based on BPS data in 2019. Besides covering the area of ​​Komodo Island, this village also covers the surrounding small islands.

Gili Motang and Gili Dasami

Gili Motang is one of the small islands in the Komodo National Park area with an area of ​​​​about 30 square kilometers. This island is also inhabited by Komodo dragons. Gili Motang together with other islands around Komodo Island were designated a Unesco World Heritage Site in 1991. Besides Gili Motang, Gili Dsami is also another small island in the KNP area inhabited by Komodo dragons.

Padar Island  

Padar Island is a small island in the Komodo National Park area on the western tip of Flores Island. The island has an area of ​​14.09 square kilometers. It was recorded that in 2017 there were 4 Komodo dragons identified as inhabiting Padar Island. However, in 2019, the Head of the Management Section of the KNP Balai on Padar Island, Ramang Isaka, said that the Komodo dragon population there had become extinct.

Flores Island

Komodo dragons are also found on the island of Flores. Overall, the island has an area of ​​13.5 thousand square kilometers with a population of about 1.8 million people. Flores Island, along with Sumba Island, Alor Islands, and Timor Island are the four major islands in NTT Province.

Administratively, the island is divided into 8 districts, namely West Manggarai, Manggarai, East Manggarai, Ngada, Nagekeo, Ende, Sikka, and East Flores.

The body shape of the Komodo dragon on Flores Island is smaller than that of the KNP area. Genetically, there are no significant genetic differences, which could lead to species differences. However, another distinguishing feature is that the skin color of the Komodo dragon on Flores Island is brighter and looks yellowish.

  Do not wait it, book your trip now

- 1 day trip: If you are short on time and want to book everything in advance, then this Komodo island day trip is perfect! Walk with the dragon, rest on the pink beach, and snorkel at Manta Point!
- 2 days trip: Spend one night on a traditional Phinisi boat and enjoy two days of dragon cruises, diving, snorkeling, and of course visiting the pink beaches! 
- 3 days and 2 nights trip: Spend two nights on a traditional boat, visit Rinca Island, hike in Padar to watch the sunset, hike with the dragon, snorkel at Manta Point, swim with the giant at Manta Point (including All meals! Included! - If you have time, this is should be your first choice!)

Last changed: Jul 04 2021 at 8:12 AM

Back to Overview

No comment found

Add Comment
Share It To: